Items from my Etsy shop

Tuesday, November 1, 2011


Today I had a very unpleasant experience. I should start by saying that I LOVE peanuts. They are delicious and a great source of protein. Today I was eating some Planters Dry Roasted Peanuts. As I was munching on them, I decided to take a look at the ingredients just out of curiosity. That's when one word jumped out at me: GELATIN! Yes, they put something derived from dead animal bones in PEANUTS! I immediately googled "Planters vegan" and found several vegan message board postings discussing the issue. Most of those people were just as surprised as I was. You would expect gelatin to show up in things like candies, but many of us just assumed that all nuts were vegan.This really pissed me off because I used to like Planters products. Now I'm considering boycotting them.

I guess we vegans can never assume that any pre-packaged food is safe (unless it is from a company that we know is 100% vegan) no matter what it is. Just so you know, I was not the one that purchased the nuts, but now I've learned my lesson and will check the label before I eat anything.

I sent an e-mail to Planters telling them how disappointed I was. You can do so as well by clicking here: Contact Planters

Have a great day guys and remember to always read the label!


  1. Uhg! Seriously, there comes a point when manufacturing's obsession with animal corpse gets beyond ridiculous. This is that point.

  2. Sarah the Happy Hippie Vegan FreakNovember 5, 2011 at 1:03 AM

    I agree completely